NSF EDSE: Forging New Directions for Design Research

Speaker: Dr. Kathryn Jablokow - Penn State University
Date: May 6, 2022; Time: 10 AM Location: UTEB 476


Abstract: In this overview of the Engineering Design & Systems Engineering (EDSE) Program at the National Science Foundation, NSF Program Director Kathryn Jablokow will highlight core themes of the program and new opportunities relevant to the engineering design and systems design communities, along with a few key principles for successful proposal writing. In addition, she will discuss her vision for design research, including the implications of treating design as a system and the prospects that open up when we take things to extremes.

Biographical Sketch: Dr. Kathryn Jablokow is a Professor of Engineering Design and Mechanical Engineering at Penn State University and currently serves the National Science Foundation in the Civil, Mechanical and Manufacturing Innovation Division as Program Director for the Engineering Design and Systems Engineering program. Dr. Jablokow is widely recognized for her expertise in cognitive diversity and its impact in engineering education and practice, including manufacturing education and student design experiences. Her recent research includes the use of rapid manufacturability analysis tools to enhance decision-making in engineering design education, as well as the characterization and mediation of manufacturing fixation in design education and practice (i.e., interventions to address an engineer’s overreliance on a specific manufacturing technique). Dr. Jablokow has received many major teaching and research awards, including the W. M. Keck Foundation Teaching Excellence Award, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Design Educator Award, and multiple Best Paper Awards. Dr. Jablokow is a Fellow of ASME, a Senior Member of IEEE, and a Member of ASEE, Sigma Xi, and the Design Society. She earned her BS, MS, and PhD degrees in electrical engineering from The Ohio State University in 1983, 1985, and 1989, respectively.


Published: April 21, 2022

Categories: Past Seminars

Available Archives